Human Resources Splash Image


Photo of Dr. Ruth Ann Murphy

Dr. Ruth Ann Murphy

Department Chair and Amy LeVesconte Professionship in Chemistry
Chemistry, Environmental Science and Geology Department
Office: York 306
UMHB Mail Box:UMHB Box 8013900 College St, Box 8013BeltonTX76513
Phone: (254) 295-4542(254) 295-4542
Subjects Taught: General Chemistry Lectures and Labs, Physical Chemistry Lectures and Labs, Chemical Research, Practicum in Clinical Chemistry, Seminar, Chemical Research - Capstone II, Advanced Inorganic Chemistry, Bio-Organic Chemistry, College Chemistry, Chemistry and Society, Organic Chemistry Lab.
Degrees Earned: Ph.D. Physical Chemistry with Minor in Mathematics, The University of Texas at Austin; B.S. Chemistry with Minor in Mathematics, The University of Texas at Austin; Additional Graduate Studies in Organic Chemistry The University of Wisconsin at Madison.

Dr. Murphy is a tenured Professor of Chemistry who joined the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor in 1995.  Prior teaching appointments were at Howard Payne University, the University of New Mexico, the University of Albuquerque and Southwestern University.

Memberships include the National Association of Advisors for the Health Professions; the Texas Association of Advisors for the Health Professions (elected offices held:  Chair and Member-at-Large); the American Chemical Society (elected section offices held:  Treasurer and Advisor), Division of Chemical Education, Division of Chemical Health and Safety, Division of Fluorine Chemistry; Phi Beta Kappa; and the Associated Chemistry Teachers of Texas. 

Committee memberships (past and present) at UMHB include the Health Professions Advisory Committee which she co-chairs, Christian Planning Committee (past chair), Quality Enhancement Program Oversight Committee, Environmental Concerns Committee, Student Development Committee and the Library Committee.  She is a member of the Graduate Council and the Teacher Education Council, and co-sponsor of the Faculty/Staff Prayer Group.  She serves as Goldwater Faculty Representative, Joint Admission Medical Program (JAMP) Faculty Director, and Campus-Wide Recycling Director.

Advising responsibilities include Chemistry, Pre-Dental, Pre-Medical, Pre-Medical Records, Pre-Occupational Therapy, Pre-Physical Therapy, and Pre-Pharmacy.

Dr. Murphy is a Subject Matter Expert in Physical Science for the Competency-Based Education Program "UMHB My Way."  For UMHB's Quality Enhancement Program she serves as liaison for Science Writing.

Dr. Murphy is a member of the First Baptist Church of Belton; she has organized and led apartment Bible studies for adults, and taught children’s Sunday School classes.

Awards and Grants

Amy Levesconte Professorship of Chemistry

Welch Foundation Grant $30,000 annually 2015-2017.  This grant supports original research by UMHB Chemistry students

Pittsburgh Foundation Grant

Research Interests

Research interests include Spectroscopic and Viscoelastic Studies of Hydrogren Bonding, Innovative Lab Experiments in Chemical Education, Synthesis and Characterization of Metallo-Porphyrin Complexes,  Effects of the Bastrop Fires on Air Quality in Central Texas, Determination of Ethanol in Central Texas Gasolines, Viscosity of Natural Waters, Viscosity of Mono- and Disaccharide Aqueous Solutions with Application to Impaired Cardiac Function in Diabetics, Viscosity of Beverages with Application to Dysphagia Patients, Viscosity of Biotene-Beverage Mixtures with Application to Dental Caries, Viscosities of Various Commercial Products,  Magnetic Susceptibility Studies of Paramagnetic Ions, and Advanced Inorganic Chemistry in the High School Curriculum.

Dr. Ruth Ann Murphy